Back to Home
Awards & Recognition

Davenport University’s Employee Recognition Awards Program has been designed to formally recognize and celebrate the outstanding contributions of faculty and staff in support of DU’s mission, vision and values.  Award recipients receive a crystal award and monetary gift during DU’s annual DavenFest event held in August.  The program consists of five recognition categories.

Click on each title to submit a new award form for the 2020 school year!

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Award

The recipient of this award has distinguished him or herself by developing a climate of inclusion where people feel valued and respected and where excellence grows from leveraging the diverse insights and capabilities of people across the institution. These are the individuals at the forefront leading initiatives to increase inclusion and understanding of the scope of diversity.

2019 Recipient: Lindsey Shull


Excellence in Teaching Award

The Excellence in Teaching Award celebrates our faculty who possess exceptional dedication to mentoring and engaging students, demonstrate mastery of effective learning delivery methods, and are recognized experts in their fields.

2019 Recipients: Bill Powers, Karen Clark, and Steve Bacinski


GREAT Service Awards

GREAT awards are given annually to faculty and staff who consistently exceed Davenport's GREAT expectations by going the extra mile to serve students and each other. 

2019 Recipients: Saleela Hollingsworth, Richard Baker, Laken London, Erik Schreur, and Susan Goetz



Tyrus R. Wessell Award

Considered Davenport’s most prestigious honor, the Tyrus R. Wessell Award recognizes exemplary commitment to the University’s Cultural Values. The award criteria includes: embracing DU STAIR values, positively impacting the lives of DU students and making lasting, positive contributions to the University overall.

2019 Recipient: Jennifer Byron